jump to navigation

The Awards Go To… January 30, 2013

Posted by Galaxy in Book news.
Tags: , , ,
add a comment

January is not just award season for movie stars and singers, it’s also award season for authors and illustrators! This week, the American Library Association held its ceremony honoring children’s books. Top honors were awarded to:

Winner of the John Newbery Medal (for the most outstanding contribution to children’s literature): The One and Only Ivan, by Katherine Applegate

Newbery Honor Books:

Splendors and Glooms, by Laura Amy Schlitz

Bomb: The Race to Build–and Steal–the World’s Most Dangerous Weapon, by Steve Sheinkin (This book was also awarded the Robert F. Sibert Informational Book Award, for most distinguished informational book for children, as well as the YALSA Award for Excellence in Nonfiction for Young Adults!)

Three Times Lucky, by Sheila Turnage

Winner of the Randolph Caldecott Medal (for the most distinguished American picture book for children): This is Not My Hat, written and illustrated by Jon Klassen

Caldecott Honor Books:

Creepy Carrots! illustrated by Peter Brown, written by Aaron Reynolds

Extra Yarn illustrated by Jon Klassen, written by Mac Barnett (The first time since 1947 that an author or illustrator has been awarded both the Caldecott Medal and a Caldecott Honor in the same year!)

Green written and illustrated by Laura Vaccaro Seeger

One Cool Friend illustrated by David Small, written by Toni Buzzeo

Sleep Like a Tiger illustrated by Pamela Zagarenski, written by Mary Logue

Michael L. Printz Award Winner (for excellence in literature written for young adults): In Darkness, by Nick Lake

And our sincere congratulations to Vermont author Katherine Paterson, winner of the Laura Ingalls Wilder Award! This award honors an author or illustrator whose books, published in the United States, have made, over a period of years, a substantial and lasting contribution to literature for children.

Find the entire awards list here.